An Occupied Nashville Life.

“As we know to our discomfort, we live in a time when ignorance of the past is widespread in the United States. Recent studies indicate that even graduates of top tier colleges and universities cannot accurately answer even the most rudimentary questions about American history, let alone the history of Europe or other continents. In fairness, perhaps it has always been the case that Americans by preference tend to focus most intently on the present and the future and that the internet and other recent technologies, augmented by extensive television viewing, have merely increased this tendency and promoted the view that the past is irrelevant.” ~The American Revolution An Eyewitness History by David F. Burg

 

This morning I awoke to impeccable warmth.

The sun was shining directly on my tent and the heat was equivalent to that of a warm and loving embraced that one may never forget.

My new friends woke up one by one and conversations became the breakfast of today.

Hearing Joshua singing in the tent next to me filled me with cheer and I began to lay out my clothing and articles to begin drying from Wednesday night’s exciting adventure.

Tour groups passed by taking pictures of monuments and a few occupy pictures.

I sang them songs in my tent and hung my flag on the top of it to dry out.

As soon as my items were all layed out to dry, two regular clothes officers approached for discussion.

“Is that your flag?” asks the judgemental officer.

“Yep!” I reply.

Then, he tried to tell me that I was disrespecting the veterans that died for the flag because I had sweater drying in the sun on top of it.

I let him know that my dad was a veteran and would be proud that I even had the flag and was representing it and our country by standing up for our right.

“Rights… heh.” He scoffed. And that is where the conversation began.

His friend was a lot nicer and openminded, but both of the police officers were expressing their gratitude towards the bill that may kick these people out of the Plaza.

So I let them know that just because the tents may go away, they are only representing the underlying issues with our society today and you cannot evict an idea such as Occupy.

The discussion went on for a while, but I will have to enlighten you another time. My library computer time is up.

My last words to the guy was that I had the shirt on my flag so the wind wouldn’t knock it off the tent and let it touch the ground. 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

